EN / FR

Take a look at Luma’s summer programme!

Free access, daily from 11 a.m. to 7 p.m. at Le Parc des Ateliers, Arles

The programme we were preparing for the Parc des Ateliers, had to be postponed. Our new programme addresses the current moment and its restrictions, the immediate past, and looks to the future, with an open-mindedness and a belief that despite adversity, at a moment when no other event in recent history has affected us as profoundly and pervasively, we can approach the future with a new set of values, based on confidence and collaboration, openness and renewed belief in community.

It’s Urgent!

It’s Urgent! is a project curated by Hans-Ulrich Obrist, which began in 2019 in Denmark. During the elections for the European Parliament in 2019, artists were invited to think about the present and the future with an exhibition of posters on billboards in the city of Copenhagen. The idea then was to make the artists’ works available to the public, inserting them into public life and the community.

At the invitation of Luma, It’s Urgent! continued to grow, and many more artists contributed with their work, which was then presented at Luma Westbau, between Summer 2019 and early 2020. Invited artists from across the world were asked to respond to the question of what is urgent in our time.

This resulted in themes of ecology, inequality, common future, solidarity, anti-racism, and social justice becoming frequently addressed, among other. As the project continues in Arles, we have invited new artists to participate and we will continue to invite more artists for the duration of the display over the summer. Their contribution will create an intimate portrait of the evolution of ideas and concerns, characteristic of the current moment. 

Der Lauf der Dinge (Le Cours des Choses) - Fischli/Weiss | Untitled - Peter Fischli

Der Lauf der Dinge (The Way Things Go, 1987) is one of the most iconic works created by the artist duo. The thirty-minute film is a journey in which a series of everyday objects and machine parts roll, topple, burn, spill or otherwise propel themselves forwards to create an extended chain reaction of cause and effect.

Allegorizing contingency and entropy, the process conveys Fischli and Weiss’s mischievous humour and is characteristic of their creative experimentation and fascination with complex trompe l’oeil fictional constructions and illusion.

Der Lauf der Dinge is a fascinating metaphor for uncertainty and the absurdity of the everyday, imparts a strong sense of the artists’ pleasure in the process of art’s production, in the taking-apart and putting-together of things, the precision of poise as well as the release of collapse.

Alongside Der Lauf der Dinge, and for the first time in France, Luma presents a more recent video work by Peter Fischli, which is, in a way, the antithesis to Der Lauf der DingeUntitled (2018) is a two-minute video playfully alluding to summertime, vacation and joy.

Le Réfectoire

Le Réfectoire was conceived this year by the designer Martino Gamper using various materials produced by Atelier Luma from local natural ressources. 

And more:

  • Guided tours of the Parc des Ateliers, in English or French (book a free visit here)
  • Presentation of the architectural, landscaping and artistic project of Luma Arles with the Parc des Ateliers model's
  • Atelier Luma's materials table, its research programme in design
  • A selection of publication about arts & culture

EN / FR

Découvrez le programme estival de Luma !

Entrée libre, tous les jours de 11h à 19h au Parc des Ateliers, Arles

Le programme que nous préparions cette année pour le Parc des Ateliers a dû être reporté. Notre nouvelle programmation répond au temps présent, marqué par des restrictions, ainsi qu'au passé immédiat, mais regarde aussi vers l'avenir avec une liberté d'esprit et la conviction qu'en dépit de l'adversité, et alors que dans l'histoire récente, nul autre événement ne nous a aussi profondément et globalement affectés, nous avons la capacité d'aborder le futur avec un ensemble de valeurs nouvelles, fondées sur la confiance et la collaboration, l'ouverture au monde, la croyance renouvelée en la communauté. 

It’s Urgent!

It’s Urgent! est un programme supervisé par le commissaire d'exposition Hans-Ulrich Obrist et lancé au Danemark en 2019. A l'occasion des élections au Parlement européen qui se déroulent cette année-là, des artistes ont été invités à réfléchir au présent et à l'avenir, au travers d'affiches exposées sur des panneaux dans la ville de Copenhague. L'idée est alors de rendre les œuvres accessibles à tous en les intégrant à la vie publique et à la communauté.

Sous l'impulsion de Luma, It’s Urgent! a continué à se développer avec la contribution de nombreux autres artistes dont les œuvres ont été ensuite présentées à Luma Westbau, entre l'été 2019 et le début de 2020. Des artistes du monde entier ont été sollicités pour répondre à la question de savoir quelle était l'urgence propre à notre époque.

L'écologie, l'inégalité, l'avenir commun, la solidarité, l'anti-racisme et la justice sociale ont fait partie des nombreux thèmes évoqués à cette occasion. Et tandis que le programme se poursuit en Arles, nous continuons à inviter d'autres artistes et continuerons à le faire tout au long de l'exposition durant l'été. Leur contribution dessinera le portrait intime du mouvement des idées et des préoccupations qui caractérisent la période que nous vivons. 

Der Lauf der Dinge (Le Cours des Choses) - Fischli/Weiss | Untitled - Peter Fischli

Der Lauf der Dinge (Le Cours des choses, 1987) est l'une des œuvres les plus emblématiques créées par le duo. Ce film de trente minutes constitue un voyage au cours duquel une série d'objets et d'éléments mécaniques, roule, se renverse, brûle, se répand ou encore, se propulse en avant, créant une longue réaction en chaîne de causes et d'effets.

Métaphore fascinante sur l'incertitude et l'absurdité du quotidien, Der Lauf der Dinge transmet avec force le plaisir éprouvé par les artistes au cours du processus de production de l'œuvre, au travers du démembrement et du remembrement des choses, de la précision de l'équilibre, aussi bien que du surgissement de l'effondrement. 

Outre Der Lauf der Dinge, et pour la première fois en France, Luma présente une vidéo plus récente de Peter Fischli, laquelle est, en un sens, l'antithèse de la précédente. D'une durée de deux minutes, Untitled (2018) évoque de façon ludique la période estivale, les vacances, la joie.

 

Le Réfectoire

Renouant avec l’entrée par le portique historique des anciens ateliers SNCF, le public pourra retrouver l’emplacement originel du Réfectoire qui après avoir été imaginé par India Mahdavi en 2017 a été repensé par le designer Martino Gamper venu en résidence à Arles avec son studio en automne 2019, à l’aide des matériaux naturels créés par le laboratoire Atelier Luma

Mais aussi :

  • Les visites commentées du Parc des Ateliers, en français et en anglais (sur réservation)
  • La présentation du projet architectural, paysager et artistique de Luma, à travers la maquette du Parc des Ateliers
  • Une table de matériaux développés par Atelier Luma, le laboratoire de recherche en design
  • Une sélection de publications sur les arts & la culture