EN / FR

Artists Residencies

The Luma Arles residency is a programme developed by the Luma Foundation within the framework of the creative production and research centre currently under construction in Arles, a city located in the Camargue region in the South of France.

Established in 2016, the residency program invites, all year long, world-renowned artists, thinkers, researchers, writers, curators and other practitioners to conduct research and carry out projects related to their artistic fields.

This programme is taking shape in a thousand-year-old, average-size city with a strong identity whose territory is marked by both a unique natural and historical heritage and a remarkable concentration of cultural activities. Fully integrated into the Parc des Ateliers programme, it is enriched by the diverse fields of research in which it operates, such as contemporary production, the environment, hospitality and education.

 

Kiluanji Kia Henda: artist (spring 2019), Frieze Artist Award 2017
Kiluanji Kia Henda was born in Luanda, Angola, in 1979.
He lives and works between Luanda and Lisbon.

Kiluanji Kia Henda questions, and not without humour, the colonial past of Angola, his native country, as well as the history of the African diasporas in Europe and today’s migration tragedy, while tackling the notions of identity, modernity and political engagement in his artistic practice.

 

Mohamed Bourouissa: artist (winter 2018-spring 2019)
Mohamed Bourouissa was born in Blida, Algeria, in 1978.
He lives and works in Paris.

Mohamed Bourouissa’s videos, sculptures, photographs and installations have often taken the margins of our society as a starting point. Since his debut, he has been creating a range of super contemporary portraits that try to escape the sociocultural stereotypes of our time, thanks to a constantly renewed collaborative and exchange-driven practice.

 

Yuri Pattison: artist (fall/winter 2018-2019), Frieze Artist Award 2016
Yuri Pattison was born in Dublin, Ireland, in 1986.
He lives and works in London.

Yuri Pattison uses digital technologies, video and sculpture to conduct extensive research on the social and political ramifications of accelerated technology development and visual density in the all-digital age.

 

Florentina Holzinger: dancer and choreographer (fall 2018 and spring 2019)
Florentina Holzinger was born in Vienna, Austria, in 1986.
She lives and works between Vienna and Amsterdam.

Florentina Holzinger’s dance pieces are driven by the notion of identity, sexual and physical transgression. Drawing inspiration as much from Viennese Actionism, body art and bodybuilding as from classical ballet, cabaret and even circus, she deconstructs, performance after performance, the very definition of femininity.

 

Paul B. Preciado: philosopher, writer and curator (January-May 2018)
Paul B. Preciado was born in Burgos, Spain, in 1970.
He lives and works between Paris and Barcelona.

Paul B. Preciado is a writer, a curator and an internationally recognized figure in the fields of the philosophy of the body, gender studies and sexual politics. His first book, Countersexual Manifesto, became a reference point for queer and transfeminist European activism. He is the author of Testo Junkie. Sex, Drugs and Biopolitics and Pornotopia. He recently published An Apartment on Uranus, a collection of his articles for the French daily newspaper Libération since 2013.

 

Pierre-Alexandre Mateos and Charles Teyssou: curators (October 2017- March 2018)
Respectively born in 1989 and 1988, in Toulouse, France.
They live and work in Paris.

Pierre-Alexandre Mateos and Charles Teyssou are a curator duo based in Paris. In May 2018, they curated the ‘Cruising Pavilion’ exhibition at the 16th Venice Architecture Biennale, interrogating the relationship between minority sexual practices and architecture. A second iteration of their curatorial project was exhibited at Ludlow 38, in New York, in February 2019, and the third and last edition took place at ArkDes in Stockholm, Sweden, in the fall of 2019. In September 2018, they were the curators of a group exhibition on neo-liberal baroque at Converso, Milan. They often contribute to magazines such as Flash Art and L’Officiel Art.

 

Annie Godfrey Larmon: art critic, writer and curator (October-December 2017)
She lives and works in New York.

Annie Godfrey Larmon is a regular contributor to the American magazine Artforum. She is now writing a book about artists Beverly Pepper and Mary Reid Kelley, as well as her first novel.

 

Anna Colin: curator (October-December 2016)
She lives and works in London.

Anna Colin is the co-director of the Open School East in Margate, England – a space dedicated to artistic development and the exchange of knowledge and savoir-faire between artistic and local communities. She is also an associate curator at Lafayette Anticipations –Galeries Lafayette Foundation in Paris.

 

Peio Aguirre: art critic, artist and writer (September-December 2016)
Peio Aguirre was born in Elorrio, Spain, in 1972.
He lives and works in San Sebastián.

Peio Aguirre regularly contributes to frieze magazine. As an independent curator, he was in charge of the Spanish Pavilion at the Venice Biennale 2019 with artists Itziar Okariz and Sergio Prego.

 

Sohrab Mohebbi: curator (September-December 2016)
Sohrab Mohebbi was born in Tehran, Iran, in 1981.
He lives and works in New York.

Sohrab Mohebbi is a curator at the Sculpture Center in New York. Since 2018, he has curated solo shows by Jean-Luc Moulène, Banu Cennetoğlu and Fiona Connor. For four years, he was an associate curator at REDCAT, an arts centre related to the California Institute of the Arts (CalArts).

 

Ahmet Öğüt: artist (fall 2016)
Ahmet Öğüt was born in Silvan, Diyarbkır, Turkey, in 1981.
He lives and works between Amsterdam and Berlin.

Ahmet Öğüt is constantly seeking to create works that address complex social issues (immigration, demographic problems, the impact of economic activity on everyday life and workers’ re-appropriation of working tools), with a sense of humour that highlights rather than masks the seriousness of their subject matters.

Linda Yablonsky is the author of The Story of Junk: A Novel, as well as an art critic and journalist. Based in New York, she has been covering the international art world for more than 25 years for many publications, including The New York Times and T Magazine, Bloomberg News, Artforum and Artforum.com, The Art Newspaper and W Magazine. She has also contributed critical essays to monographs or exhibition catalogues on artists including Anish Kapoor, Keith Sonnier, Marilyn Minter, Francesco Vezzoli, Elmgreen & Dragset, Mark Morrisroe and James Nares. During her 2017 residency at Luma Arles, she worked on Why Jeff Koons?, the first book to take complete account of the artist's life and career, to be published in the United States by Henry Holt & Co.

EN / FR

Résidences d’artistes

La résidence Luma Arles est un programme de la Fondation Luma développé dans le cadre du centre de création, de production et de recherche en cours de construction à Arles en Méditerranée.

Établie en 2016, elle accueille sur invitation, tout au long de l’année, des artistes, penseurs, chercheurs, écrivains et commissaires d’exposition de renommée internationale et parcours divers afin qu’ils/elles puissent accomplir un travail de recherche et développer des projets spécifiques en lien avec leur pratique artistique.

Ce programme de résidence se développe progressivement dans une ville millénaire à l’identité forte dont le territoire est marqué par un patrimoine naturel et historique unique, une concentration d’acteurs culturels inédite pour une ville de taille moyenne. Il s’inscrit pleinement au sein du programme du Parc des Ateliers et s'enrichit des champs d’action dans lesquels il agit : la création contemporaine, l’environnement, l’hospitalité et l’éducation.

 

Kiluanji Kia Henda : artiste (printemps 2019) Frieze Artist Award 2017.
Né à Luanda (Angola) en 1979. Il vit et travaille entre Luanda et Lisbonne.

Cet artiste multimédia questionne, non sans humour dans son œuvre, le passé colonial de son pays d’origine, l’histoire des diasporas africaines en Europe et la tragédie migratoire actuelle. Tout en se confrontant aux notions d’identité, de modernité et d’engagement politique dans sa pratique artistique.

 

Mohamed Bourouissa : artiste (hiver 2018 –printemps 2019)
Né à Blida (Algérie) en 1978. Il vit et travaille à Paris.

Les vidéos, sculptures, photographies et installations de Mohamed Bourouissa ont souvent pour point de départ les marges de notre société. Il réalise depuis ses débuts une galerie de portraits hyper contemporains qui tentent d’échapper aux stéréotypes sociaux-culturels de notre époque, grâce à un travail de collaboration et d’échange sans cesse renouvelé.

 

Yuri Pattison : artiste (automne / hiver 2018/19) Frieze Artist Award 2016
Né à Dublin (Irlande) en 1986. Il vit et travaille à Londres.

Yuri Pattison utilise les technologies numériques, la vidéo et la sculpture afin de mener des recherches très poussées sur les ramifications sociales et politiques du développement accéléré des technologies et de cette densité visuelle à l’heure du tout digital.

 

Florentina Holzinger : danseuse et choréographe : (automne 2018 et printemps 2019)
Née à Vienne (Autriche) en 1986. Elle vit et travaille entre Vienne et Amsterdam.

Les créations de Florentina Holzinger ont pour moteur la notion de transgression à la fois identitaire, sexuelle et physique. S’inspirant aussi bien de l’Actionnisme Viennois, du body art, body building que du ballet classique, du cabaret voire même du cirque, elle déconstruit spectacle après spectacle notre vision même de la féminité.

 

Paul B. Preciado : philosophe, écrivain, commissaire d’exposition (janvier-mai 2018)
Né à Burgos (Espagne) en 1970. Il vit et travaille entre Paris et Barcelone.

Paul B. Preciado est un écrivain et commissaire d’exposition et une figure internationalement reconnue dans la philosophie du corps et les études de genre et de la politique sexuelle. Son premier livre, Manifeste contra-sexuel est devenu une référence clef pour l'activisme européen queer et transféministe. Il est l'auteur de Testo Junkie. Sex, Drugs and Biopolitics et Pornotopie. Il vient de publier Un Appartement sur Uranus, recueil de ses articles pour le quotidien Libération depuis 2013.

 

Pierre-Alexandre Mateos et Charles Teyssou : commissaires d’exposition (octobre 2017 - mars 2018)
Nés respectivement en 1989 et 1988 à Toulouse (France). Ils vivent et travaillent à Paris.

Pierre-Alexandre Mateos et Charles Teyssou sont un duo de curators basés à Paris. En mai 2018, ils ont créé le Cruising Pavillon à l'occasion de la 16ème Biennale d'Architecture de Venise, interrogeant les liens entre pratiques sexuelles minoritaires et architecture. Ce travail a aussi fait l’objet d’une exposition à Ludlow 38 à New York en février 2019 et se conclura par un dernier chapitre à ArkDes à Stockholm en Suède à l’automne 2019.

En septembre 2018, ils furent les commissaires d’une exposition de groupe consacrée au baroque néo-libérale à Converso (Milan). Ils collaborent régulièrement pour de nombreuses publications dont Flash Art et L'Officiel Art.

 

Annie Godfrey Larmon : critique d’art, écrivain et commissaire d’exposition (octobre-décembre 2017)
Elle vit et travaille à New York.

Annie Godfrey Larmon collabore régulièrement pour le magazine américain Artforum et prépare en ce moment un livre sur l’artiste Beverly Pepper et sur Mary Reid Kelley ainsi que la rédaction de son premier roman.

 

Anna Colin : commissaire d’exposition (octobre-décembre 2016)
Elle vit et travaille à Londres.

Anna Collin co-dirige l’Open East School à Margate (Angleterre), un espace dédié au développement artistique et à l’échange de savoirs et savoir-faire entre différentes communautés – artistiques et locales. Elle est également curatrice associée à la Fondation Lafayette à Paris.

 

Peio Aguirre : critique d’art et commissaire d’exposition (septembre – décembre 2016)
Né en 1972 à Elorio (Espagne). Il vit et travaille à San Sebastian.

Peio Aguirre contribue régulièrement pour le magazine Frieze. Commissaire indépendant il est en charge du Pavillon espagnole de la Biennale de Venise de 2019 avec les artistes Itziar Okariz et Sergio Prego.

 

Sohrab Mohebbi : commissaire d’exposition (septembre – décembre 2016)
Né en 1981 à Téhéran (Iran). Il vit et travaille à New York.

Sohrab Mohebbi est commissaire d’exposition au Sculpture Center à Long Island City. Auparavant il fut commissaire associé à REDCAT à Los Angeles.

 

Ahmet Öğüt : artiste (automne 2016)
Né en 1981 à Silvan, Diyarbkir (Turquie). Il vit et travaille entre Amsterdam et Berlin.

Ahmet Öğüt cherche constamment à créer des œuvres aux prises avec des enjeux sociaux complexes (de l’immigration aux troubles de population en passant par l’impact de l’activité économique sur le quotidien ou la réappropriation de l’outil de travail par les travailleurs) – avec un humour qui souligne plus qu’il ne masque la gravité des questions abordées.

 

Linda Yablonsky est critique d’art, journaliste et auteure du livre The Story of Junk: A Novel. Basée à New York, elle couvre le milieu de l’art international depuis plus de 25 ans pour de nombreux magazines, notamment le New York Times et T Magazine, Bloomberg News, Artforum et Artforum.com, ainsi que Art Newspaper et W Magazine. Elle a également contribué à des essais critiques, des monographies et des catalogues d’exposition sur des artistes tels que Anish Kapoor, Keith Sonnier, Marilyn Minter, Francesco Vezzoli, Elmgreen & Dragset, Mark Morrisroe and James Nares. Pendant sa résidence à Luma Arles en 2017, elle a pu travailler sur l’ouvrage Why Jeff Koons?, premier livre complet et détaillé consacré à la vie de l’artiste et sa carrière, publié aux Etats-Unis chez Henry Holt & Co.