EN / FR

Architects

Frank O. Gehry is one of the most influential architects working today, with far-ranging experience in cultural and educational buildings.

His groundbreaking work includes notable cultural projects such as:

  • the New World Symphony Concert Hall in Miami, Florida;
  • the Fisher Center for the Performing Arts at Bard College in Annandale-on-Hudson, New York;
  • Signature Theatre, New York City;
  • the Guggenheim Museum, Bilbao;
  • the Jay Pritzker Pavilion and BP Bridge in Millennium Park, Chicago;
  • the Walt Disney Concert Hall in Los Angeles.

He has also completed design work on the Foundation Louis Vuitton Museum in Paris, France (opened 2014) and on the Guggenheim Abu Dhabi (in development), in addition to designing the masterplan for Luma Arles and the center piece of its campus—the Arts Resource Center.

His notable education buildings include:

  • the Loyola University Law School,
  • the Yale Psychiatric Institute,
  • the Weatherhead School of Management at Case Western Reserve University,
  • the Stata Center at MIT,
  • the Lewis Library at Princeton University.

His work has earned many of the most significant awards in the architectural field, including the Pritzker Architecture Prize (1989), architecture’s most important award, the Wolf Prize from the Wolf Foundation (1992), and the Praemium Imperiale Award by the Japan Art Association (1992).

He has also received the Gold Medal from the Royal Institute of British Architects, and the Golden Lion Lifetime Achievement Award at the Venice Biennale (2008).

Frank Gehry is the founder of Los Angeles-based Gehry Partners, LLP, a full service architectural firm with extensive experience in the design and construction of academic, museum, theatre, performance, and commercial projects around the world; and, Gehry Technologies, a software and services firm whose mission is to leverage technology to make better buildings for less money.

He received his Bachelor of Architecture degree from the University of Southern California in 1954, and he studied City Planning at the Harvard University Graduate School of Design.

 

“During my first visit to the Luma Arles site I understood immediately the power of the site and its 19th century buildings for the proposed program.

The 7-ha site with its complex of buildings from when it served as a railway manufacturing factory, was lowered significantly relative to the Avenue Victor Hugo leading to it from the historic centre of Arles. It made perfect sense thus to propose a new type of cultural centre here, on one hand using the old manufacturing structures for all kinds of different uses—exhibition, workshops, research etc. and on the other hand anchoring the site with the new building by Frank Gehry. The site thus becomes a park where discovery is possible.

Given the ambitious and creative programming of Luma we knew first and foremost that the spaces had to be flexible to accommodate works of various scale and mediums. The existing railroad sheds with their tall ceilings and linear structure had great potential for being re-used in different ways.

We began by assessing the state of the existing buildings to evaluate what aspects could be restored or renovated, and which required a new intervention. An earlier fire had damaged much of the roof area of both the Forges and the Mécanique buildings so we have proposed a new flat cast tile that is a subtle nod to the original roman clay tiles. The interior exposed steel columns, brackets and trusses have all been preserved and restored.

Skylights have been added and up to date gallery lighting installed. To capture the magnificent quality of light in Southern France is vital and we knew it needed to be modulated and controlled so as to enhance the experience of being in the refurbished buildings.

Significant attention has been paid to making the buildings sustainable by utilizing practical strategies including natural ventilation and a radiant heating and cooling system. Careful attention to the choice of simple materials allows the spaces to remain intact and quietly authentic.

With every space in the complex we seek to create a balance allowing the 19th century industrial vocabulary to coexist simply with contemporary purpose, all the while creating well-proportioned spaces with controllable natural light and clear circulation.”

- Annabelle Selldorf, Principal Selldorf Architects

 

Bas Smets has backgrounds in landscape architecture, civil engineering and architecture. Starting from a precise reading of the existing land, his projects reveal an unseen, exemplary landscape. These projects vary in scale from territorial visions to infrastructural landscapes, from large parks to private gardens, from city centres to film sets.

He founded his office in Brussels in 2007 and is active in ten countries.

His constructed projects include:

  • the transformation of the historical gardens of Chateau Padiès in France’s Tarn region;
  • the town centre renewal of Ingelmunster in Flanders;
  • the black landscapes for Philippe Parreno’s film Continuously Habitable Zones.

A number of his large parks are under construction:

  • the Tour & Taxis park in Brussels;
  • the New South project in Antwerp;
  • the Estonian National Museum park in Tartu.

He received a Master’s degree in Architecture and Civil Engineering from the University of Leuven and a postgraduate qualification in Landscape Architecture from the University of Geneva.

He regularly lectures at international institutions, such as the Harvard University Graduate School of Design and the Pavillon de l’Arsenal in Paris.

In 2008 he was awarded the biennial French prize for young landscape architects ‘Les Nouveaux Albums des Jeunes Architectes et des Paysagistes’.

EN / FR

Architectes

Frank O. Gehry est l’un des architectes les plus influents de sa generation. Il dispose d’une très grande expérience en matière de bâtiments à visée culturelle et éducative.

Ses travaux les plus révolutionnaires comprennent des projets culturels d’envergure tel que :

  • le New World Symphony Concert Hall de Miami en Floride,
  • le Fisher Center for the Performing Arts de Bard College à Annandale-on-Hudson, dans l’État de New York,
  • le Signature Theatre de New York,
  • le musée Guggenheim de Bilbao,
  • le Jay Pritzker Pavilion,
  • le BP Bridge du Millennium Park de Chicago,
  • le Walt Disney Concert Hall de Los Angeles.

 Il a également réalisé les travaux de conception de la Fondation Louis Vuitton à Paris (2014) et du musée Guggenheim d’Abu Dhabi, actuellement en cours de développement. C’est aussi lui qui a dessiné le plan général de Luma Arles et la pièce centrale du Campus, le Centre de ressources artistiques.

 Ses réalisations de bâtiments éducatifs les plus remarquables comprennent :

  • la Loyola University Law School,
  • le Psychiatric Institute de Yale,
  • la Weatherhead School of Management de Case Western Reserve University,
  • le Stata Center du MIT,
  • la Lewis Library de Princeton University.

Ses travaux lui ont valu de nombreux prix parmi les plus prestigieux du monde de l’architecture, dont le Prix Pritzker en 1989, le prix d’architecture le plus important, le Prix Wolf de la Fondation Wolf en 1992 et également le Praemium Imperiale Award de la Japan Art Association en 1992.

Il a aussi reçu la Médaille d’or du Royal Institute of British Architects, et le Lion d’or de la Biennale de Venise en 2008 pour l’ensemble de son œuvre.

 Frank Gehry est le fondateur de Gehry Partners LLP, un cabinet d’architecte situé à Los Angeles, spécialisé dans la conception et la construction de projets dans les secteurs des universités, musées, théâtres, pouvoirs publics et chantiers commerciaux dans le monde entier.

Il est également à l’origine de Gehry Technologies, une entreprise de logiciels et de services dont la mission est de créer des technologies permettant de construire de meilleurs bâtiments pour un moindre coût.

 Il a obtenu son diplôme d’architecte à l’université Southern California en 1954, et a étudié l’urbanisme à la Graduate School of Design de l’université d’Harvard.

 

“Lors de ma première visite avec l’équipe de Luma Arles en janvier 2013, j’ai tout de suite ressenti la puissance de ce lieu et des bâtiments du XIXème siècle dans le contexte du programme proposé.

Le site de 7 hectares, avec son ensemble de bâtiments datant de l’époque où des trains y étaient fabriqués, a été rabaissé par rapport à l’avenue Victor Hugo qui y mène depuis le centre historique d’Arles. Il était donc parfaitement logique de proposer un nouveau type de centre culturel à cet endroit, d’une part en exploitant les anciennes structures industrielles pour y accueillir des expositions, des ateliers de recherche, etc, et d’autre part pour ancrer le site grâce au nouveau bâtiment dessiné par Frank Gehry. Ce site devient ainsi un parc où la découverte est possible.

Étant donné la programmation ambitieuse et créative de Luma, nous savions dès le début que les espaces devraient être suffisamment souples pour pouvoir s’adapter à la diversité des tailles et des supports des œuvres accueillies. Les hangars existants avec leur toiture élevée et leur structure linéaire disposent d’un énorme potentiel de réutilisation.

Nous avons commencé par évaluer l’état des différents bâtiments pour décider de ce qui pouvait être restauré ou rénové, ou au contraire, ce qui nécessite une nouvelle intervention. Les toitures des Forges et de la Mécanique avaient toutes deux été endommagées par un incendie, nous avons donc proposé une toiture en tuiles coulées, clin d’œil aux tuiles romaines en terre cuite. À l’intérieur, les piliers, les consoles et les renforts en acier sont tous conservés et restaurés. Nous avons ajouté des puits de lumière et installé des rampes d’éclairage modernes.

Il était capital de pouvoir capturer la magnifique qualité de la lumière du sud de la France, et nous savions qu’elle devait pouvoir être modulée et contrôlée de manière à améliorer l’expérience vécue dans les bâtiments rénovés.

Une attention toute particulière a été accordée à l’aspect écologique des bâtiments, en utilisant des stratégies pratiques faisant intervenir la ventilation naturelle et un système radiant pour le chauffage et le refroidissement. Le choix délibéré d’utiliser des matériaux simples permet de garder les espaces intacts et discrètement authentiques.

Pour chaque espace de ce complexe, nous avons cherché un équilibre permettant au vocabulaire industriel du XIXème de coexister en toute simplicité avec des objectifs contemporains, tout en créant des lieux bien proportionnés offrant une luminosité naturelle contrôlable et une circulation sans entrave. »

- Annabelle Selldorf, Principal Selldorf Architects

 

Bas Smets est ingénieur, architecte et paysagiste. À travers une lecture méticuleuse du territoire, ses projets révèlent des paysages visibles, mais pas encore perçus.

Les projets comprennent toutes les échelles, des stratégies territoriales aux paysages d’infrastructure, des parcs très étendus aux jardins privés, des centres villes aux décors de cinéma.

Il a établi ses bureaux à Bruxelles en 2007 et a construit des projets dans une dizaine de pays. Ses projets réalisés comprennent :

  • la transformation des jardins historiques du Château Padiès dans le Tarn,
  • l’aménagement du centre-ville d’Ingelmunster en Flandre,
  • les paysages extraterrestres pour le film Continuously Habitable Zones de Philippe Parreno.

Plusieurs de ses grands projets de parcs paysagers sont en cours de réalisation :

  • le parc de Tour & Taxis à Bruxelles,
  • les espaces publics du projet Nieuw Zuid à Anvers,
  • le parc du Musée National d’Estonie de Tartu.

Bas Smets est titulaire d’un master en Architecture et en Génie Civil de l’Université de Louvain ainsi que d’un master en Paysage de l’Université de Genève. Il intervient régulièrement dans des institutions internationales parmi lesquelles la Graduate School of Design de l’Université d’Harvard ainsi qu’au Pavillon de l’Arsenal à Paris.

En 2008, il a été nommé lauréat des Nouveaux Albums des Jeunes Architectes et des Paysagistes, remis tous les deux ans par le Ministère français de la Culture.